What a man told me

An old man once told me that if we are to fight the Civil war again the Biafra won’t hold ground for more than 6 months, I asked him why , he said that the people that fought the war were more traditional, they knew and understand the culture more than youths of today, they believe in oaths and the Sacredness of the Igbo nation, they still have the warrior mindsets of the igbo people.

For that, there were fewer betrayals, people gave out all they have for the war, there was unity, there was brotherhood, there is this sort of belief that the Ideal is more important than the material. The men were brave, the women were organized and stood behind their men whether in victory or death .

These days if we were to be massacred again like in 1966 there will be no reaction because our leaders will first sell out, our youths are too stupid and more interested in Davido and Wizkid to reflect on their condition, there will be so much betrayals that the coalition will scatter within few months, guys now believe in money even if they sell their own mother, our girls can’t stand a month of suffering, they will just switch sides and just demoralize the men, this is a generation of extremely weak igbos. …Well after the man finished explaining this to me, I felt really angry towards the man, first for the fact that am buying the Palm wine we are drinking and he’s telling me that I an igbo man is weak.

Two for telling me the truth in such a beautiful evening , but on a close reflection I found out I felt fear instead, because he just told me the raw truth and knowledge of this sacred truth really scares me. Believe me it does scare the shit out of me.
The glory we igbos enjoy now is the glory our fathers built, we are no longer what we used to be.